Municipal election voting starts Oct. 16

Advance and absentee voting for Habersham’s two municipal elections officially starts Oct. 16.
Voting for two municipal elections – Demorest and Mt. Airy – will take place at the Habersham County Board of Elections and Registration office in Clarkesville. The office is located in the basement of the county administration building (old courthouse).
Advance voting will take place between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. through Nov. 3, said Laurel Ellison, elections supervisor.
Election Day is from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 7, Ellison said, with voting in Demorest taking place in the city council meeting room, behind the fire department. In Mt. Airy, election day voting will take place at town hall, located in the old schoolhouse.
Elections in other municipalities were canceled when only one person qualified for each open seat.
The deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 7 elections was Tuesday, Oct. 10, according to Secretary of State Brian Kemp.
Voters have many options to register to vote or update their information. Since 2014, Georgia voters can register or make changes to their registration using the Secretary of State’s Online Voter Registration website (OLVR) by using a driver’s license or valid Georgia ID card. Voters can also access OLVR by downloading the “GA SOS” app on their smartphone or by texting “GA” to “2VOTE.”
Steps for voters to check registration:
• Check voter registration status using the Secretary of State office’s “My Voter Page” (MVP);
• Use OLVR, GA SOS or text “GA” to “2VOTE” to register to vote or to update your voter registration at;
• Visit your local elections office to fill out or drop off your voter registration application before the deadline.
– Staff reports

Northeast Georgian

Mailing Address:
2440 Old Athens Hwy
Cornelia, GA 30531

Phone: 706-778-4215
Fax: 706-778-4114